BU split into three universities

The State Cabinet on Monday approved amendments to the Karnataka State University Act in order to split the Bangalore University into three. The boundaries of the new universities will be based on Legislative Assembly constituencies.

Currently, more than 600 degree colleges are affiliated to Bangalore University. The three parts that the university would be divided into are: Bangalore University, Bangalore Central and Bangalore North.

Campus locations

Sources in the State Secretariat said that while the Bangalore University would continue to function from its Jnana Bharati campus, the new Bangalore Central University would be located at Central College campus in the City.

The campus of Bangalore North University would be located at Jangammana Kote in Sidlaghatta taluk, Kolar district. For the time being, the Bangalore North University would commence functioning from its Post-Graduation Centre in Kolar.

Each university is expected to have 200 affiliated colleges. All the three universities would include teaching and research activities.

The Bill related to splitting Bangalore University three-way, is expected to be passed in the State Legislature session that is likely to be held in July.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 14, 2022 7:41:15 am |