24 teams win Wipro Earthian Award for their sustainable thinking

Recognition: The award winners with Azim Premji, chairman of Wipro Ltd.

Recognition: The award winners with Azim Premji, chairman of Wipro Ltd.   | Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

They include a team each from a Belagavi school and a Bengaluru college

Fourteen schools and 10 colleges from various parts of the country have bagged the ‘Wipro Earthian Awards 2018’. The awards were presented to the winners by Azim Premji, chairman of Wipro Ltd., on Saturday in recognition of their sustainable thinking. Government High School, Sambra, Belagavi district, and BMS College of Engineering, Bengaluru, are the winners from the State.

A press release states that 1,300 entries were received for the 2018 edition of Wipro Earthian programme.

“The teams from schools demonstrated their understanding of biodiversity and water through a combination of activity and essays. The teams from colleges submitted their entries on the themes of water, waste, and transportation in the urban context,” states the press release.

The entries have increased threefold since the inception of award in 2011. “The programme so far has engaged with over 55,000 schools and colleges, 1.3 lakh students and 13,000 teachers across the country. The winning institutes will get an opportunity to engage with Wipro collaborative programmes on sustainability. Anurag Behar, chief sustainability officer, Wipro, said, “The eighth edition of the award involved an outreach to schools and colleges in 29 States and two Union Territories, including those in remote locations such as Ladakh, Dras, Kargil, Sunderbans and the Nicobar Islands for the first time.”

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 19, 2020 4:42:21 AM |

Next Story