Political heat all set to soar

Pawan among many heavyweights scheduled to file papers

Even as only one major nomination for the general elections was filed in the last two days, the political heat in the city is all set to soar as a good number of heavyweights are lined up to file their papers in the next few days.

The city is likely to witness number of rallies by various political parties as a number of candidates from TDP, YSRCP and Jana Sena Party are scheduled to filing their nominations, beginning Thursday.

The ECI started taking nominations from the candidates from March 18. Except for Anakapalle constituency, no nomination from the major political party were received in the city region till Wednesday.

Jana Sena Party president Pawan Kalyan is scheduled to file the papers at Gajuwaka on Thursday. A release issued by P. Hari Prasad, political advisor to Mr. Pawan, on Wednesday said that the actor-turned-politician will be filing his nomination between 10.30 a.m. to 1 p.m. He will formally enter the fray from Bhimavaram Assembly constituency on Friday. Meanwhile, the party’s pick for Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat, former CBI Joint Director V.V. Lakshminarayana is likely to file nomination on the same day.

Rallies planned

HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao, who is contesting from Visakhapatnam (North) Assembly segment took to his twitter handle to announce that he would be filing nomination on Thursday. At around 10 a.m., a rally would be taken out from KSR Green Valley Madhavadhara via Murali Nagar, Kaparada, Narasimha Nagar, Port Stadium, Seethammdhara, after which he would file the papers at the Tehsildhar’s office, the tweet said.

Meanwhile, YSRCP (North) Assembly segment candidate K.K. Raju will file nominations on Thursday. A rally is said to have planned for the occasion. P.V.G.R. Naidu (Ganababu), TDP candidate for Visakhapatnam (West) Assembly seat, is scheduled to file the papers at around 1 p.m. at Zone-IV office, Gnanapuram. As per the programme, he is scheduled to start from his house and move through Gopalapatnam, NAD Junction and Kancharapalem. His rival from YSRCP Malla Vijaya Prasad will also file his nomination at the same time.

Muttamsetti Srinivas (Avanthi Srinivas) who has shifted to the YSRCP is contesting from Bheemunipatnam Assembly segment and he will file nomination at Bheemili MRO office on Friday. TDP candidate for Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat M. Sribharat and his YSRCP rival M.V.V. Satyanarayana will file papers on the same day.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Related Topics
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 27, 2020 6:27:18 PM |

Next Story