YSRCP set to wrest many seats from Telugu Desam in Krishna district

Three ministers, Deputy Speaker face defeat

May 24, 2019 07:24 am | Updated 07:24 am IST - VIJAYAWADA

YSRCP supporters celebrate its performance in the elections, in Vijayawada, Thursday.

YSRCP supporters celebrate its performance in the elections, in Vijayawada, Thursday.

The YSR Congress Party has wrested many seats from the TDP in Krishna district, including three Assembly constituencies represented by ministers and the Deputy Speaker.

YSRCP was leading in 13 out of the 16 Assembly constituencies and Kesineni Srinivas (Nani) is leading in the Vijayawada parliamentary constituency. In Machilipatnam Lok Sabha seat, V. Balashowry is leading against his rival and sitting MP Konakalla Narayana Rao.

Gannavaram sitting MLA Vallabaneni Vamshi was leading against YSRCP candidate Yarlagadda Venkat Rao with a margin of about 933 votes. In Vijayawada East constituency, MLA Gadde Rammohan Rao won against YSRCP candidate Boppana Bhava Kumar with a majority of 15,164 votes. In Vijayawada Central, MLA Bonda Umamaheswara Rao is leading against YSRCP contestant Malladi Vishnu.

In Avanigadda, YSRCP candidate Simhadri Ramesh Babu won against Deputy Speaker Mandali Budha Prasad with a margin of 22,963 votes. In Machilipatnam Assembly constituency, YSRCP’s Perni Venkataramaiah (Nani) won against Minister Kollu Ravindra with 5,851 votes.

YSRCP candidate Vasanta Venkata Krishna Prasad was leading against his rival and Irrigation Minister Devineni Umamaheswara Rao with about 12,531 votes in Mylavaram constituency. In Tiruvur, YSRCP candidate Kokkiligadda Rakshana Nidhi is leading against his rival and Excise Minister Kothapalli Samuel Jawahar with 10,647 votes.

The YSRCP is leading in Gudivada, Kaikalur, Nandigama, Nuzvid, Pamarru, Pedana and Vijayawada West Assembly seats, when reports last came in.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.