CM inaugurates water plants in Amaravati

Set up by CRDA in association with NTR Trust

June 21, 2017 12:19 am | Updated 07:24 am IST - VIJAYAWADA

Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu inaugurated two water plants under NTR Sujala Pathakam at Harischandrapuram and Venkatapalem villages in Capital city Amaravati on Tuesday.

The AP Capital Region Development Authority (CRDA) in association with the NTR Trust has set up the two water plants, which provide drinking water to 29 villages in the Capital. A 20 litre water can would be supplied at a cost of ₹2. The NTR Trust will extend technical support and maintain the water plants.

‘More such initiatives in the offing’

Mr. Naidu said that the two water plants would quench the thirst of villagers. The NTR Trust has set up the plants with latest technology. Stainless steel pipes were used to avoid pollution. The NTR Trust was also taking up many programmes and launching services such as skill development, blood bank, and educational institutions. Health cards would also be issued in every village in the near future, he said.

Narasaraopet MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao took the initiative in setting up nine water plants through the NTR Trust. Philanthropists would have to come forward in setting up the water plants in villages. The government would provide power, water and land. The government earmarked ₹100 crore under the RWS. The government and philanthropists can set up the water plants in 50:50 ratio, he said.

Focus on Kanigiri, Uddhanam

The Chief Minister said that steps were being taken to set up the water plants in Kanigiri where fluoride problem was acute. Also, the government would provide water in the Uddhanam area where kidney-related problems were high, by July-end, he added.

On the occasion, Chief Minister felicitated MEIL MD P V Krishna Reddy and Hetero CMD Parthasarathi Reddy, who made donations for the water plants, RWS representative Vasanta Rao, Madala Rajendra and others.

Municipal Administration Minister P. Narayana, Civil Supplies Minister Prathipati Pulla Rao,Panchayat Raj and Rural Development Minister Nara Lokesh, Social Welfare Minister Nakka Anand Babu, Mahila Commission Chairperson Nannapaneni Rajakumari, MPs Galla Jayadev, Mr. Sambsiva Rao, MLA Tenali Sravan Kumar, Guntur ZP Chairperson Sheik Janimoon, CRDA Commissioner Ch. Sridhar, and Guntur District Collector Kona Sasidhar were among those present.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.