Capital region expands as CRDA redraws boundaries

The total area of the Andhra Pradesh capital region has been increased to 8352.69 from the existing 7068.20 sq. km. The State Government issued a decree, GO no. 207, on Tuesday stipulating inclusion and exclusion of some mandals and villages/town/municipality in Krishna and Guntur districts in the capital region.

The mandals excluded from CRDA jurisdiction in Krishna district include parts of Gudlavalleru, Angaluru, Gudlavalleru, Vemugunta, Seri Kalvapudi, Chitram and Penjendra villages. An area of 3453 hectares in these villages will thus not fall within the CRDA limits.

Parts of Pedanandipadu, Nadendla and Muppala mandals in Guntur district have also been excluded from CRDA jursidiction. Gorijavoluguntapalem, Nadendla and Madala villages from these mandals have been excluded.

The government included the Jaggayyapeta municipality, and a few villages from Jaggayyapeta, Vatsavai, Penuganchiprolu, Mylavaram, Nuzvid, Movva, Ghantasala,Challapalli, Mopidevi, Pamarrru, Nandivada, Gudivada and Nandigama mandals in Krishna district.

As many as 30 villages in Atchampeta, Krosuru, Sattenapalli, Phirangipuram, Edlapadu, Prathipadu, Ponnur, Bhattiprolu mandals of Guntur district have also been included in the capital region.

A total extent of 300 sq. km in Guntur district has been included in the region. Likewise, one town and 123 villages in Krishna district with an extent of 1099.97 sq. km has been included in the capital region.

The total area included in CRDA is 1400.50 sq. km, while 116.01 sq. km has been excluded.

Effectively, therefore, 1284.49 sq. km has been added to the capital Region. In contrast with the total existing area of 7068.20, the latest modifications will enlarge the capital region to 8352.69 sq. km.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 12, 2021 3:53:28 AM |

Next Story