BCs get raw deal in Krishna district

Contrary to assurances they were given and promises made, the different political parties have done gross injustice while allotting tickets to the Backward Classes in the ensuing General Elections, according to BC leaders.

While the YSRC and TDP have each given tickets to BC aspirants to contest for one Lok Sabha seat and three Assembly seats, the Congress party has not given seats even for one.

Interestingly, both TDP and YSRC have accommodated BC leaders that have quit the Congress party to protest against the way it went about the bifurcation of the State.

The BC leaders have been given ticket to fight against other BC leaders or to get back at “deserters”. Former Minister Kolusu Parthasarathy has been given ticket by the YSR Congress Party to fight against the sitting TDP MP and BC leader Konakalla Narayana for the Machilipatnam Lok Sabha seat. Former Gannavaram Congress MLA and BC Muddaraboiyna Venkateswara Rao has been fielded by Telugu Desam Party to fight Nuzvid sitting MLA and Chinnam Ramakotaiah , who quit TDP and joined Congress.

Former Zilla Parishad Chairman and BC leader Kukkala Nageswara Rao’s son and new face K.V. R. Vidya Sagar has been given ticket by YSRC to contest in Penamaluru Assembly constituency against two upper caste candidates. YSRC has also given ticket to BC leader and new face Uppala Ramaprasad to contest in Kaikaluru Assembly Constituency against DCC president and new face Naraharisetti Narasimha Rao and BJP candidate Kamineni Srinivas.

TDP has given ticket again to former MLA Kagitha Venkata Rao.

TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu promised 100 seats to BCs, but gave very few seats.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 24, 2021 6:44:05 AM |

Next Story