BC leader may head TDP Krishna unit

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Krishna district unit is likely to have a leader from the backward classes (BC) to head the unit as the incumbent district president Devineni Umamaheswara Rao is likely to join the State cabinet.

According to TDP sources, Bachula Arjunudu, a native of Machilipatnam, is the top contender for the post. Machilipatnam MP-elect Konakalla Narayana’s brother Konakalla Bullaiah’s name is also doing rounds.

Mr. Arjunudu served as Machilipatnam Municipality chairman sometime ago. He had aspired to contest from Nuzvid Assembly constituency. But, the entry of Congress leader Muddaraboyina Venkateswara Rao marred his prospects this election. Likewise, Mr. Bullaiah’s name too figured prominently during elections that he would contest from Pedana Assembly constituency. TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu, however, chose to field Kagita Venkat Rao, a senior BC leader, from there.

Till now, the TDP Krishna district unit was led by a leader from the Kamma community baring a couple of occasions. When the party was founded in early 80s, Vasantha Nageswara Rao served as its convener. The other prominent Kamma leaders who led the district unit included -- Vakkapatla Prasad, Akkineni Krishna Rao, Vallabhaneni Babu Rao, Bandih Srimannarayana, Tondepu Dasaratha Janardhana Rao and Mr. Umamaheswara Rao.

Ambati Brahmanaiah, a Kapu leader who passed away couple of months ago, led the district unit on two occasions. Saikam Arjuna Rao, a BC leader, acted as the district president for a year. Sometime ago, Mr. Venkat Rao’s name was being circulated to head the district unit. However, he seems to have declined the move and is likely to be accommodated in the Cabinet under BC quota.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 17, 2021 1:00:10 PM |

Next Story