AP Rythu Sangham elects new body

AP Rythu Sangham Krishna district unit president Y Kesava Rao addressing a press conference in Vijayawada on Thursday. Photo: Ch. Vijaya Bhaskar.   | Photo Credit: CH_VIJAYA BHASKAR

The Andhra Pradesh Rythu Sangham Krishna district unit at its 43 conclave held at Nuzvid recently has elected Y. Kesava Rao as its president. The conclave elected J. Prabhakar Rao as secretary.

The other team members include: Y. Joya, S. Nageswara Reddy, M. Hari Babu, M. Madhava Reddy, M. Basava Rao all vice presidents; T. V. Lakshmana Swamy, M. Madhu, V. Nancharaya, V. Ramachandra Rao, Gourisetti Nageswara Rao as assistant secretaries.

The conclave has demanded the State Government to fix the minimum support price for paddy, sugarcane and other crops taking the surge investments into consideration. The farmers were receiving raw deal on crops, including sugarcane, subabul, paddy etc. For instance, while other sugar factories in Vizianagaram and other places were paying Rs. 2,600 per ton for sugarcane, the KCP in Krishna district was paying only Rs. 2200, Mr. Kesava Rao said, and urged the government to address these issues.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 25, 2021 5:24:26 PM |

Next Story