Of political parties and their offices

Heritage building Prajasakthi office and Sundaraiah Bhavan that have been demolished for construction of Makineni Basavapunnaiah Study Centre in Vijayawada. Photo: Ch. Vijaya Bhaskar   | Photo Credit: CH_VIJAYA BHASKAR

The buildings are named after stalwarts of parties and they have over the years become symbols of sorts for the divergent political ideologies.

The offices of the different political parties have become landmarks with citizens using them to give directions.

The office of the Congress Party is the oldest. It is named after Andhra Ratna Duggirala Gopalakrishnayya, a freedom fighter and a multi-faceted personality.

The name has been abbreviated to Andhra Ratna Bhavan and only a few know that it was named after Gopalakrishnayya, who was a poet, orator, philosopher, song writer and singer.

The office of the Communist Party of India (CPI) was named after leading British journalists and theoretician of the British Communist Party, Rajani Palme Dutt.

The party some time ago sold the property and is building a new office in Hanumanpet.

The office of the Communist Party of India-Marxist was named after a great leader of the party Puchchalapalli Sundaraiah. The Sundaraiah building is adjoining the older Prajashakti building which is a heritage building for the party. Sundaraiah and other stalwarts of the party regularly addressed meetings in this building after the split of the Communist Party.

Study centre

Both buildings are, however, history today because they have been demolished to make way for the Makineni Basavapunaiah Study Centre.

The study centre will also house the office and studio of the new TV 10 channel will come on air.

While the CPI is yet to announce the name of the new building, the CPI(M) has made it clear that it would not be named after Sundaraiah much to the chagrin of the party cadre. On the contrary it had re-named the Srisri Building, which earlier housed the Prajasakthi Daily printing press, as the Sundaraiah Bhavan.

The Congress Party is in no position to go in for renovation because the party coffers are empty.

A power bill of Andhra Ratna Bhavan of over Rs.1.5 lakh not paid by the previous city president Pyla Sominaidu is still pending.

The Telugu Desam Party also doesn’t have its own building and operates from rented accommodation.

It has changed not less then four premises in the city since its inception.

Even in New Delhi the AICC office at 24, Akbar Road is very simple, but the ABK Bhavan of the CPI(M) party is a massive structure.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 12, 2021 2:47:16 AM |

Next Story