Yuvaraja elected State Youth Congress chief

M.Yuvaraja, a 29-year-old businessman from Erode, is the new president of the State Youth Congress. He was declared elected at the State convention here on Sunday. Delegates elected from the Assembly constituencies voted to elect the State committee and office bearers of the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies at the convention.

K.J.Rao, general secretary, Foundation for Advanced Management of Elections (FAME), which has been asked to supervise the Youth Congress elections, announced the results past midnight amidst jubilant scenes. Mr.Yuvaraja secured 1,327 votes out of the 4,225 votes polled. The total electorate was 4,265 and 17 votes were declared invalid. Forty persons contested for the 10-member State committee.

S.P. Varadharajan, who stood second with a tally of 1,023 votes, was declared elected as the State vice-president. The following were the other elected State office bearers: Mahendran (with 276 votes), Prabhu (255 votes) and Gayathri (115 votes) – general secretaries (general category); Hameed Zaheer Abbas (99) – general secretary (minorities); Ardhanari (70) – general secretary (SC/ST); and Vijay Ilanchezhian (103) – general secretary (OBC). The post of general secretary (women-SC/ST) would remain vacant as none qualified with the minimum votes required, Mr.Rao said. A decision on filling up the post would be taken later, he added.

Rajeev Satav, Youth Congress President, while congratulating the president elect and other office bearers, said the elections conducted in a democratic manner have made the organisation vibrant.

Mr. Yuvaraja while expressing happiness over being elected through a democratic process affirmed that he would work to strengthen the organisation and the party at the grass root level, especially in the rural areas.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 1, 2022 4:09:04 pm | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Tiruchirapalli/Yuvaraja-elected-State-Youth-Congress-chief/article16365912.ece