CM's constituency records 82.13 per cent polling

The district registered an average polling of 79.9 per cent during the Assembly elections held on Wednesday, according to M. S. Shanmugham, district Collector.

He told presspersons here on Friday that the Thiruvaiyaru Assembly constituency recorded a maximum of 84 per cent polling, followed by Orathanadu which recorded 82 per cent, Thiruvidaimaruthur which recorded 81.1 per cent, Peravurani with 80.9 per cent, Kumbakonam with 80.3 per cent, Papanasam which recorded 80 per cent, Pattukottai which recorded 77.6 per cent, and Thanjavur with 73.3 per cent. Women voters exceeded men in the district with the polls registered in high numbers in rural areas than urban areas.

The EVMS that were later brought to the counting centres were locked up in strong rooms in the presence of agents of candidates. The strong rooms, which will be monitored throughout the day by web cameras, will also be guarded by police and other officials.


The district recorded an average polling per cent of 81.42, said Collector K.Baskaran, in a press release. The Tiruvarur Assembly constituency from where Chief Minister M.Karunanidhi is contesting, recorded 82.13 per cent. While Nannilam recorded the maximum of 82.33 per cent polling, Mannargudi recorded 80.62per cent and Thiruthuraipoondi witnessed 80.46 per cent.

Staff selected for counting of votes will be imparted training. In Thiruthuraipoondi Assembly constituency, out of the 1,93,832 voters, 1,55,832 exercised their franchise on Wednesday. In Mannargudi constituency total number of voters are 2,05,335. Out of them 1,65,540 voted. In Tiruvarur Assembly constituency total is 2,09,337 out of whom 1,71,927 voted. In Nannilam asconstituency there are 2,18,664 voters out of whom 1,80,034 voted.


Women voters outnumbered men in both the Perambalur (reserved) and Kunnam Assembly segments. The district recorded a polling percentage of 82.02 per cent with 3,61,855 voters exercising their franchise. Of them, 1,91,394 were women while 1,70,461 were men.

M. Vijayakumar, District Election Officer, said that the polling percentage was 82.36 for the Perambalur (reserved) constituency and 81.69 for the Kunnam segment.

In Perambalur (reserved) Assembly segment, a total of 1,88,086 voters-89,806 men and 98,280 women-exercised their franchise. In the Kunnam Assembly constituency, 1,73,769 votes were polled by 80,655 men and 93,114 women.

A maximum voting percentage of 92 per cent was recorded each at Anukkur village near Veppanthattai in Perambalur segment and Kattaiyankudikadu village near Sendurai in Kunnam segment.


The district registered a polling percentage of 79.81 per cent, with 7,99,188 voters-3,85,816 men and 4,13,372 women-having cast their votes in the six Assembly segments.

In a statement issued here on Thursday, A. Suganthi, district Collector, said that the polling percentage was 79.99 for the Gandarvakottai (reserved) constituency; 85.93 per cent for Viralimalai; 78.38 for Pudukottai; 78.57 for Tirumayam; 81.65 for Alangudi and 74.81 per cent for the Aranthangi Assembly segment.

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 18, 2020 1:18:54 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Tiruchirapalli/CMs-constituency-records-82.13-per-cent-polling/article14683174.ece

Next Story