All-party condolence procession for Jyoti Basu

Members of various political parties taking out a silent procession in Thanjavur on Tuesday to mourn the passing away of former West Bengal Chief Minister and veteran Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader Jyoti Basu. Photo: M. Srinath   | Photo Credit: M_SRINATH

An all-party silent procession was taken out here on Tuesday to condole the death of Jyoti Basu, Communist leader and former Chief Minister of West Bengal.

The procession started from the railway station and ended at Panagal Building. G. Neelamegam, district secretary of CPI(M) led the procession. S.N.M. Ubayathullah, State Commercial Taxes Minister and town secretary of DMK, R. Vaidyalingam, former Minister and district secretary of AIADMK, Durai Balakrishnan, district secretary of MDMK, Mutharasan of CPI, Amar Singh of DK, Vetrivendhan of Viduthali Chiruthaigal Katchi, Nanji Varadarajan of Congress took part in the procession.

Later, at a condolence meeting held near Panagal building, they paid rich tributes to the departed leader. They described him as a true communist who lived as a communist throughout his life and a great parliamentarian. His stewardship as Chief Minister of West Bengal saw many reforms, particularly land reforms in the State. He remained a mass leader and the donation of his body to the Medical college for research and study showed his love for humanity.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 27, 2021 1:56:57 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Tiruchirapalli/All-party-condolence-procession-for-Jyoti-Basu/article16838386.ece

Next Story