Serials, telefilms in award glory

Kshenaprabhachanchalam, directed by Sivamohan Thampi and produced by Amritha Television, was adjudged the best tele-serial at the Kerala State Television Awards 2018.

Kalan Pokaru - Oru Biopic directed by Binsad V.M. and Dehantharam directed by Ashad Sivaraman were adjudged the best telefilm in the less than 20 minute and above 20 minute fiction categories respectively.

The awards were announced by Minister for Culture A.K. Balan here on Tuesday.

The award for second best tele-serial went to Decemberile Akasham directed by Antony Antony. Shyam Krishna was adjudged the best scriptwriter and Ashad Sivaraman the best director for Dehantharam.

Amritha Television’s Autumn Leaf the Big Stage bagged the award for the best TV show (Entertainment). Raghavan was the best actor (Dehantharam) and Seena Antony the best female actor (Devangana).

Aliyar and Shaheen Siddique were adjudged the second best actors and Valsala Menon the second best female actor. Swasthika B. Manoj (Devangana) was named the best child actor.


The award for the best comedian went to Kishore N.K. and Apsara. Ullathuparanjal, directed by Alby Francis, bagged the award for the best comedy programme.

The award for the best dubbing artiste went to Ambotty (male) and Parvathy Prakash bagged the award in the female category.

Prejith was named the best cameraman and Shaijal P.V. the best editor. Jithu S. Prem and Ajay Le Grand got the award for the best sound recording. Sujith Ragha was adjudged the best art director and Bijibal the best music director.

Special jury mention

The Minister said the special jury mention went to Vijay Menon and Aneesh Ravi (acting), Sinu Sitharth (cameraman) and Roopesh R. (sound recording).

The award for the best article went to K. Kunhikrishnan’s Pralayakalathe Malayalam Television.

In the non-fiction documentary section, Ockhi: Kadal Kattaduthappol, directed by Walter D’cruz (general category); Kumudini: Oru Ambalpoovin Katha, directed by Jaya Jose C.L., (science and environment category); and Premji: Ekalochana Janmom, directed by Neelan (biography), won the awards.

In the women and children section, the best documentary award went to Kairali People TV’s Ee Jeevithathinu Peru Sangeetham, directed by Priya Ravindran, and One in Millions, directed by Sreenath V., bagged the award for the best educational programme. The award for best anchor (education programmes) went to Jenesh Kumar Aramom and Deepak G. Nair.

Biji Thomas was adjudged the best director; Sujith Sundaresan (best news camera person); Densil Antony (best news presenter); Maya V. (best compere/anchor); and Gireesh Puliyoor and Sheela Raj (best commentators); and John Brittas the best interviewer.

Arun Kumar K. of Asianet News got the award for the best investigative journalist. Balakavithakal and Joyful Six got the awards for the best programme for children and Newsmaker of Manorama News was declared the best TV show. P.V. Kuttan, Venu Nair, R. Biju, Prajesh Sen, Shafeekhan S. and Prateesh M. received special jury mention.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 16, 2021 8:40:36 AM |

Next Story