Search on for a new Mayor

V.K. Prasanth

V.K. Prasanth  

V.K. Prasanth to preside over council meeting on Saturday too

With Thiruvananthapuram city Corporation Mayor V.K. Prasanth winning the byelection to the Vattiyurkavu Assembly constituency, the race is on to find a replacement for the man who has steered the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) without much challenges for close to four years. Some names from the ruling council have been coming up in discussions ever since Mr. Prasanth’s candidature was announced.

When it sits down to choose a candidate for the Mayor’s post, the CPI(M) district committee will have in its mind the upcoming local body elections, which is less than a year away.


Two of the frontrunners at this point seems to be Health standing committee chairman K. Sreekumar and councillor S. Pushpalatha, who headed the health standing committee in the previous council.

Being the only CPI(M) district committee member in the current council can work to Ms. Pushpalatha’s advantage.

But, after the local body elections of 2015, when most of the Mayor candidates were defeated, the party experimented with a relatively new face in Mr. Prasanth, who was not a district committee member yet.

With the Mayor post reserved for women in the next council, the party could use the remaining tenure of the current council to prime one of the women councillors for the job.

Other probables

The five or six area committee members in the current council also stand a chance to be considered for the post. This include Medayil Vikraman, the Kazhakuttam area secretary; Vilappilsala area committee member R. Sivaji; Vanchiyoor area committee member and Development standing committee chairman Vanchiyoor P. Babu. Among the young crop, Kunnukuzhy councillor I.P. Binu’s name is one of the most discussed.

“The district committee is yet to meet to discuss the names for the Mayor’s post. Mr. Prasanth would vacate the post only after presiding over the council meeting scheduled on Saturday. The State Election Commission will be informed about this on Monday, after which the notification for electing the new Mayor will be issued by the Commission. So, we have ample time to zero in on a suitable name,” said a CPI(M) source.

Bypoll in Kazhakuttam

Mr. Prasanth’s win in Vattiyurkavu would necessitate a byelection in the Kazhakuttam ward, which he had won in 2015 with a huge margin of 3,272 votes.

The ruling LDF currently has 43 councillors in the Corporation council, with the opposition BJP following close behind with 35 councillors and the UDF with 21 councillors.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jun 4, 2020 5:19:03 AM |

Next Story