NSS units adopt 88 railway stations

The National Service Scheme (NSS) units in the State has adopted 88 railway stations in Thiruvananthapuram Division to usher in a new era with ‘Green Railway’ programme.

Under this programme, NSS units spread across the State will be organising programmes for cleaning of railway stations and eradicating plastic waste from railway land. The NSS units will also convert vacant land in railway stations to gardens of medicinal, ornamental and essential plants. Simultaneously, the public awareness on ‘Swachh Rail Swachh Bharath’ will also be held. Minister for Higher Education and Minority Affairs K.T. Jaeleel launched the programme at Thampanoor on Tuesday.

Shirish Kumar Sinha, Divisional Railway Manager, P. Jayakumar, Additional Divisional Railway Manager, Thiruvananthapuram Division, Ajay Kaushik, Station Director, Thiruvananthapuram Central, Rajesh Chandran, Senior Divisional Commercial Manager, and G.P. Sajithbabu, Regional Director, NSS, Kerala & Lakshadweep spoke.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 7, 2020 12:17:48 AM |

Next Story