Now, a CBL in Kerala backwaters

Exciting contests: The Nehru Trophy Boat Race on Punnamada Lake.  

Kerala’s traditional boat race is to get a makeover with the government all set to launch a mammoth backwater event under a league format that spans nearly three months during the monsoon.

The Champions’ Boat League (CBL) has been modelled by Kerala Tourism on the lines of IPL format with the intention of making the celebratory races a world-class experience for tourists and creating an international sporting atmosphere for participant clubs and their oarsmen.

The CBL will kick off on August 10 with the Nehru Trophy Boat Race in Alappuzha and end with the President’s Trophy Boat Race in Kollam on November 1, the State’s formation day.

All the 12 races to be held in three months will be held between 2.30 p.m and 5 p.m.

The CBL winner will get a cash prize of ₹25 lakh, while those finishing second and third receive ₹15 lakh and ₹10 lakh respectively.

Into its run-up, Kerala Tourism is looking for entities that have expertise in managing, executing and promoting CBL in the next five years.

Authorities have floated a request for proposal that aims to make the selections through bidding.

More professionally

Through the CBL featuring nine teams, the government aims to conduct the snake-boat races more professionally, Minister for Tourism Kadakampally Surendran said in a statement.

“We want CBL to be a world-class tourism product capable of attracting tourists. Further, the league championship helps boat clubs financially.

The players become more skilled. That will inspire a whole new generation of them.”

The CBL will further ensure tourists’ continue to come during the rainy season, traditionally considered lean for the tourism industry.Overall, the league will conduct 12 boat races in the districts of Alappuzha, Kottayam, Kollam, Ernakulam, Thrissur and Malappuram.

The 1952-incepted Nehru Trophy will be the qualifying boat race for the selection of the top teams for the CBL also.

The CBL races are Nehru Trophy, Pulinkunnu, Kainakari, Kayamkulam, Karuvatta (Alappuzha), Marine Drive, Piravom (Ernakulam), Ponnani (Malappuram), Kottapuram (Thrissur) and Thazhathangadi (Kottayam) besides Kallada and President’s (Kollam).

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 16, 2021 4:08:24 PM |

Next Story