Lok Sabha polls: Eight nominations on Day One

Eight candidates filed their nomination papers in the State on the first day of filing nominations for the Lok Sabha elections on Thursday.

Two candidates filed in their nominations in the Thiruvananthapuram constituency and one each in Attingal, Kollam, Idukki, Chalakudy, Wayanad, and Kannur.

Four of the candidates are women.

Mini S. of the the Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) and Gopakumar A. of the Dalit Human Rights Movement (DHRM) filed their nominations in the Thiruvananthapuram constituency.

Shailaja T. (DHRM) filed her nomination papers in Attingal; Sintu Prabhakaran (SUCI) in Kollam; Joice George (Independent) in Idukki; Jose Thomas (Marxist Communist Party of India (United) in Chalakudy; Mujeeb Rahman (Independent) in Wayanad; and Aparna R. (SUCI) in Kannur.

Nomination papers can be filed till April 4. Scrutiny will be held on April 5. April 8 is the deadline for withdrawing nominations.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 12, 2021 10:43:20 AM |

Next Story