Cyclists from district emerge winners

Thiruvananthapuram district bagged the overall championship at the 15th Mountain Cycling Championship that drew to a close at the CRPF Camp, Pallipuram, on Sunday.

Thiruvananthapuram secured 19 points. Idukki won the runners-up trophy with 17 points.

Sanjaya Kumar, Secretary, Kerala State Sports Council, and Director, Sports and Youth Affairs of the State government, was the chief guest at the valedictory. Sudeesh Kumar S.S., secretary, Kerala Cycling Association, and B. Nirmal Kumar, its vice-president, were present at the function. Mr. Sanjaya Kumar presented trophies to the winners and runners-up. The championship was also the selection trial for cyclists to represent the State in the forthcoming 15th National Mountain Cycling Championship scheduled to be held at Pune in October. Eleven members in the boys’ category, six in men’s category, 11 in girls’ category, and six in women’s category will represent the State at the national championship.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 3, 2020 10:51:06 PM |

Next Story