Biodiversity awards announced

March 11, 2015 12:00 am | Updated 05:41 am IST - Thiruvananthapuram:

The annual awards instituted by the Kerala State Biodiversity Board (KSBB) in various categories have been announced. The award for the best environment protection goes to Shahul Hameed of Kasaragod. K.R. Jayan won the award for protection of native varieties while Rajan Babu of Kayamkulam, bagged the award for the best organic farmer. The other winners in the environment protection category include N.V. Balakrishnan of Kozhikode (native cattle breed), M.V. Vishnu Namboodiri of Kannur (traditional knowledge), and K.S. Anup Das, MES College, Malappuram (biodiversity research). The awards comprises a cash prize of Rs.50,000, a citation and plaque. Christ College, Irinjalakuda, won the award for the best biodiversity club. The award for best Biodiversity Management panel has gone to Mankara grama panchayat, Palakkad.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.