26 IAS officials get new postings

June 02, 2016 12:00 am | Updated September 16, 2016 09:56 am IST - THIRUVANANTHAPURAM:

In a major administrative reshuffle after the new Left Democratic Front (LDF) took over last month, the Cabinet on Wednesday transferred 26 Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officials.

The Cabinet that met under Chief Minister, Pinarayi Vijayan also gave the nod to post the former State Police Chief and Director General of Police (DGP), T. P. Senkumar, as the Chairman and Managing Director of Kerala Police and Housing Construction Corporation.

Retains Finance Secretary

The government has retained Additional Chief Secretary, K.M. Abraham as the Finance Secretary and V.J. Kurien, Additional Chief Secretary, in-charge of the crucial Aviation and Airports Departments and as the Managing Director, Cochin International Airport Ltd.

Additional Chief Secretary V. S. Senthil has been given charge of Planning and Economic affairs and Environment. He has also been made Member Secretary, State Planning Board.

Paul Antony, Additional Chief Secretary, has been given charge of Power and will hold the post of Chairman and Managing Director KSEB. Mara Pandiyan, Additional Chief Secretary, will be in charge of Forests and Wildlife, Taxes, Registration and Excise. Rajeev Sadanandan, Additional Chief Secretary, who has returned after deputation, has been given Health. Viswas Mehta, Additional Chief Secretary, will look after Land, Revenue, and Housing.

T.K. Jose, Principal Secretary, who has returned to the State after deputation, has been given the charge of the crucial LSGD. James Varghese, Principal Secretary, has been given charge of Fisheries, Ports, Harbour Engineering, and Cashew and Coir. P.H. Kurien has been retained as Principal Secretary, Industries. Usha Titus has been posted as Secretary General Administration Department, Information and Public Relations, and NORKA.

B. Srinivas is the new Secretary, Higher Education, and A.P.M Mohammed Hanish has been posted Secretary, General Education, Sports and Youth Affairs.

V. Venu, who has returned after deputation, has been made Secretary, Welfare of SC/ ST and Backward Classes, Tourism, and Museum and Archaeology. Rani George has been made Secretary, Culture; and K. Jyotilal, Secretary, Transport and Devaswom. V. K. Baby has been posted Secretary, LSGD; Raju Narayana Swamy as Secretary, Agriculture; Kamala Vardhana Rao Secretary, Finance Expenditure; and Shajahan Secretary, Social Justice, Wakf and Welfare of Minorities.

Asha Thomas has been made Chairman and Managing Director, Supplyco; and B. Ashok Secretary, Animal Husbandry, Dairy, Zoos.

Tinku Biswal has been posted Secretary, Irrigation, Water supply and Sanitation, Inland Navigation and Coastal Shipping. Sumana Menon has been made Secretary, Sainik Welfare, Printing and Stationery. Inderjith Singh has been posted Resident Commissioner, New Delhi; and Puneethkumar Assistant Resident Commissioner, New Delhi in the transfer and postings.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.