240 CPI(M) members join BJP

WARM WELCOME: BJP State unit president V. Muraleedharan greets CPI(M)members who joined the party at a function in Thiruvananthapuram onTuesday. Photo:S. Gopakumar   | Photo Credit: S_GOPAKUMAR

More than 240 members of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)] on Tuesday parted ways with the party and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The members, including area committee members of the district unit of the CPI(M) and those holding posts in the Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU), joined the BJP at a function held at the party State headquarters at Thycaud here.

BJP State unit president V. Muraleedharan welcomed the CPI(M) leaders by handing over the membership card to Alamcode Dhanaseelan, who was a member of the CPI(M) Varkala area committee.

A majority of those who defected to the BJP are from Varkala, Kallambalam, Navaikulam, Kazhakuttam, Attipra, and Chirayinkeezhu, a BJP leader said.

Mr. Muraleedharan said the decision by the members to leave the party showed the “ideological disarray” in the CPI(M), and the growing acceptance of the BJP in the State.The BJP, he said, had sensed the antipathy within the CPI(M) immediately after the Lok Sabha polls as several of its active members had voted for the BJP candidates.

The CPI(M) had “lost its relevance” as most of its leaders had moved away from the party’s core ideological moorings, he said. This drift had created disgruntlement among its committed workers.

“Such dissatisfied members are looking to the BJP. The party will continue to raise issues concerning the poor and the tribal people,” he said. The BJP leader criticised the Congress for its involvement in various scams.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 15, 2021 9:27:13 PM |

Next Story