Hundreds run with gusto in Udupi half marathon

Prakash Raj, film actor, shaking hands with a participant at the Syndicate Bank Udupi Half Marathon in Manipal on Sunday.

Prakash Raj, film actor, shaking hands with a participant at the Syndicate Bank Udupi Half Marathon in Manipal on Sunday.   | Photo Credit: handout_mail


A large number of people participated in the ‘Syndicate Bank Udupi Half Marathon’ organised by the Udupi District Athletic Association here on Sunday.

Actor Prakash Raj flagged off the marathon in front of the Syndicate Bank Head Office here.

The participants passed through Tiger Circle, Indrali, MGM College Road, Sharada Mantapa, Paniyadi, Diana Road, Kukkikatte, Korangrapady, Guddeangady, National Highway 66, Udyavar Cross, Kinnimulky, Kalikamba Temple Road, Ajjarkad, Jodu Katte, Taluk Office Road, Diana Circle, K.M. Road, Kalsank, and Kadiyali. It culminated at the point where it started.

Besides the 21-kilometre half marathon, there were also races for Under-21, Under-17, and Under-14 categories. A three-kilometre race was held for sports enthusiasts, government employees and others under the celebrity section.


The top seven winners in the Half Marathon (men’s) were: Sadashiva S. from SDM Sports Club, Ujire; Sharath, Alva’s College, Moodbidri; Siddarayappa, Alva’s College, Moodbidri; Vinyas, Mangalore University; Preetham, Pompei College, Aikala; and Rajesh T., Alva’s, Moodbidri.

The top four winners in Half Marathon (women’s) were: Jyoti Shetty, Nandini Bhat, Premakala S. Rao, and Shobha R.

The first, second and third prize winners in both categories got cash prizes of Rs. 25,000; Rs. 15,000 and Rs. 10,000 respectively. Those from fourth to sixth positions in this race too were given prizes.

Under-21 (Men): Chidananda H.V., NSAM, Nitte; Kalander Zaheed, NSAM, Nitte; Sachin, Nitte; Girish Shetty, Nitte; Sukesh, Government PU College, Hebri; and Harish, Government First Grade College, Shankarnarayan.

Under-21 (Women): Bindu K., NSAM, Nitte, Jyoti S., NSAM, Nitte; Manjula V.H., NSAM, Nitte; Jyoti, Government First Grade College; Hebri, Sushmita, NSAM, Nitte; and Pallavi, MSRS College, Shirva.

Under-17 (Boys): Dinesh, NSAM High School, Nitte; Rohit, Sharada High School, Cherkady; Pervin Rodrigues, Milagres High School, Kallianpur; Basavaraju, Udupi; Nadeem, NSAM PU College, Nitte; Chethan Poojary, NSAM PU College, Nitte.

Under-17 (Girls): Suma, NSAM PU College, Nitte; Saritha, Perdoor High School; Bhoomika and Divyashree from Sanjay Gandhi High School, Ampar; Pavithra, Perdoor High School; and Shravya, NSAM, Nitte.

Under-14 (Boys): Shreesha S. Shetty, NSAM, Nitte; Sandeep Naik, Sharada High School, Cherkady; Tarun, NSAM, Nitte; Anil Naik, Sharada High School, Cherkady; and Prashanth, Udupi.

Under 14 (Girls): Vaishali, Perdoor High School; Adeeksha, Sharada High School, Cherkady; Pooja Shetty, NSAM PU College; Disha, Cherkady, Nagarathana and Punyashree, Udupi.

Celebrity Category (Men): Anil Kumar, Bharat Naik, Shankar, Vinay Kumar, Kiran Kumar and Vittal Sherigar.

Celebrity Category (Women): Prasanni, Chitralekha D.V., Latha Kumari, D. Vidya Prakash, Sandhya Nayak, and Amurth Kala.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Mangaluru
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 26, 2020 5:50:24 PM |

Next Story