Beary Academy announces honourary awards


Awards to be presented at Chikkamagaluru on January 10

The Karnataka Beary Sahitya Academy will confer its Annual Honourary Awards 2014 on B.M. Ichalangodu, B.A. Shamshuddin Madikeri and Mohammed Beary Edapadavu.

While Prof. Ichlangodu is being honoured for his contributions in Beary language research, Mr. Shamshuddin is being honoured in the field of literature and Mr. Beary in the field of education, said Academy Chairman, B.A. Mohammed Haneef.

Mr. Haneef told presspersons here on Monday that the awards would be presented at the Beary Language Conference to be held at Chikkamagaluru on January 10. Over 5,000 Beary speaking people are expected to attend the event, he said.

The awards carry Rs. 10,000 cash purse and citation. The Kannada and Culture Department has proposed to the government to increase the cash purse to Rs. 75,000 each, but the Academy is not sure when the same would come into effect.

Besides the honourary awards, the Academy has identified nine personalities for their contributions to various fields and would felicitate them during the language conference. They are, Mariam Ismail, Ismail Azad, A.M. Sridharan and Umar Farooq (for literature); K. Mohammed (for defence); Moidin Kunhi (for medicine); Azala Ayub and B.H. Noor Mohammed (for social service) and Mohammed Iqbal (for singing), he said.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Karnataka Mangaluru
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 26, 2020 5:09:20 PM |

Next Story