Watrap taluk starts administrative functions


The new taluk with Watrap as headquarters has started its administrative functions from Watrap union office.

In a statement, Collector A. Sivagnanam said Srivilliputtur taluk had six firkas and 49 revenue villages. Considering that people from Watrap and surrounding areas found it difficult in reaching Srivilliputtur taluk office, Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami on February 18 ordered creation of the new taluk.

Three firkas of Watrap, Nathampatti and Kottaiyur came under the new taluk. The revenue villages that were brought under Watrap firka are Watrap, Kansapuram, W. Pudupatti and S. Kodikulam.

Kottaiyur, Maharajapuram, Thambipatti, Marikalamkathan, Ilanthaikulam, Ayardharmam, Govindanallur, Vellapottal and Ayankarisalkulam came under Kottaiyur firka.

Nathampatti firka comprised Nathampatti, Sundapandiyam, Ruthirappanaickenpatti, Vadugapatti, Kalathur, Ammapatti, Moovaraivendran, Thulakkapatti, Semmandikarisalkulam and Kunnur.

People from these revenue villages should approach the new taluk office to get their grievances redressed, the statement added.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 19, 2021 1:47:12 AM |

Next Story