DMK registers landslide victory in Madurai district 

Cadre of political parties throng a counting centre in Madurai on Tuesday.

Cadre of political parties throng a counting centre in Madurai on Tuesday.

The ruling Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) registered a landslide victory in urban local bodies elections in Madurai district. The party candidates won the majority of wards in Madurai Corporation, municipalities and town panchayats.

Out of the 100 wards in Madurai Corporation, the DMK secured 67 wards. The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) secured 15 wards. 

In the DMK front, the Congress secured five wards, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) four wards, Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) three wards and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) secured one ward.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured one ward. The remaining four wards were secured by independent candidates. 

DMK secured all the three municipalities: Melur, Tirumangalam and Usilampatti. The DMK secured 23 out of the 27 wards in Melur municipality, AIADMK two wards, the Congress and others one ward each. 

In Tirumangalam, the DMK secured 18 wards out of the 27 wards. The AIADMK won six wards and Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) secured two wards. One ward was secured by the Congress. 

However, the battle was closer in Usilampatti. Out of the total 24 wards, the DMK secured 12 wards while the AIADMK managed to win nine wards. The Congress won one ward and the Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) secured two wards.

At town panchayats, the DMK got 10 of the 15 wards in Alanganallur. The AIADMK and the Congress won one ward each and others secured three wards. In Elumalai, the ruling party won 12 of the 18 wards. the AIADMK secured four wards and others two wards. While the DMK won eight wards, the AIADMK emerged victorious in six wards and others in four wards in Sholavandan.

In A. Vellalapatti, the DMK bagged 14 of the 15 wards and the AIADMK had to be content with one ward. In Paravai, the AIADMK won eight of the 15 wards, the DMK six wards and others one ward. In T. Kallupatti, the DMK won 12 of the 15 wards, the CPI(M) won one ward and others two wards. In Palamedu, others secured 14 of the 15 wards and in seven wards candidates were elected unopposed. The DMK secured one ward. In Vadipatti, the DMK won nine of the 18 wards, the AIADMK six wards, the Congress one ward and others two wards.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jul 4, 2022 1:27:58 am |