Separate counting centres planned


For Virudhunagar Lok Sabha polls, Sattur Assembly by-election


Virudhunagar district administration has planned to have two separate counting centres — one for the Virudhunagar Parliamentary constituency and one for the Sattur Assembly constituency that is going for by-election — to avoid confusion.

Virudhunagar Collector, A. Sivagnanam, said that all the electronic voting machines from six Assembly segments of the Virudhunagar Lok Sabha seat — Virudhunagar, Sattur, Sivakasi and Aruppukottai of Virudhunagar district and Tirumangalam and Tirupparankundram of Madurai district — would be transported from the polling stations to the counting centre to be set up at S. Vellaichamy Nadar Polytechnic College in Virudhunagar.

However, the EVMs from Sattur Assembly constituency will be taken to a new counting centre to be set up in Sattur.

“This is to avoid confusion and ensure that the right EVMs are taken to the counting centres for the Lok Sabha election and the Assembly constituency by-poll,” the Collector said.

Sattur Assembly constituency that has got 283 polling stations in 147 locations will have two EVMs — one for the LS seat and one for the Assembly segment.

“These EVMs used for the LS election and Assembly by-poll will be visibly distinguished with different colour codings. While the ballot papers inserted in the EVMS use for LS election will have pink paper, those for Assembly constituency will have white paper,” the Collector said.

Though separate officials will be handling these EVMs to avoid mix up while storing the EVMs at the halls in counting centres, different locations of counting centres have been planned.

The district administration is in the process of finalising the counting centre for Sattur Assembly by-poll.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Madurai
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 20, 2020 12:25:16 PM |

Next Story