New set of judges for HC Madurai Bench

A new set of judges will preside over court proceedings at the Madurai Bench of the Madras High Court from February 4. Justice N. Kirubakaran will the Administrative Judge at the High Court Bench for the next three months.

A Division Bench of Justices N. Kirubakaran and S. S. Sundar will hear public interest litigation petitions, writ appeal relating to motor vehicle, local administration, land reforms, land tenancy. agricultural marketing, labour, service and electricity. The Bench will also hear matters relating to DRT and DRAT and cases relating to Commercial Appellate Division.

After the Division Bench sitting, Justice N. Kirubakaran writ petitions of 2013 and 2014. Justice S.S. Sundar will hear civil revision petitions of 2013 and 2014.

A Division Bench of Justices P.N. Prakash and B. Pugalendhi will hear Habeas Corpus petitions, Criminal Appeals relating to crime against women, criminal contempt and appeals.

After Division Bench sitting, Justice P.N. Prakash will hear old criminal original petitions. Justice B. Pugalendhi will hear criminal original petitions and writ petitions (CrPC) up to 2017.

A the Division Bench of Justices K.Kalyanasundaram and R. Tharani will hear writ appeals relating to education, industrial laws, co-operative societies, sales tax, customs and central excise and mines and minerals. The Bench will also writ appeals and petitions relating to land encroachments and unauthorised construction.

After the Division Bench sitting, Justice K. Kalyanasundaram will hear second appeals of 2013 and 2014 and contempt petitions. Justice R. Tharani will hear civil revision petitions of 2015 and 2016.

Justice R.Mahadevan will hear writ petitions relating to service matter and freedom fighter’ Pension scheme, Justice J.Nisha Banu will hear second appeals from 2015, civil miscellaneous second appeals , company appeals, transfer civil miscellaneous petitions and civil revision petitions up to 2012.

Justice N. Seshasayee will hear criminal original petitions and writ petitions (CrPC) from the year 2018. Justice G.R. Swaminathan will hear writ petitions relating to education, local authorities, mines and minerals, industries, forests, State excise and prohibition.

Justice Abdul Quddhose will hear writ petitions relating to labour, urban land ceiling, land acquisition, other land laws, land reforms, land tenancy, motor vehicles, motor vehicle tax, other tax and duties, export and import, customs and Central excise. Justice M. Dhandapani will hear criminal original petitions, anticipatory bail and bail petitions, CBI and Prevention of Corruption Act cases.

Justice S. Ramathilagam will hear civil miscellaneous appeals and civil revision petitions from 2017. Justice T. Krishnavalli will hear criminal appeals, including appeals relating to crime against women and criminal revisions petitions. Justice R. Pongiappan will hear first appeals and second appeals from 2009 to 2012. Justice R.Hemalatha will hear second appeals up to 2008.


A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 30, 2020 3:11:51 PM |

Next Story