MDMK candidates, a profile



Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) general secretary Vaiko (69) is the candidate for Virudhunagar Lok Sabha constituency. He hails from Kalingapatti in Tirunelveli district, is a postgraduate and a lawyer.

He has published several books in Tamil on various topics. After stepping out of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, Mr.Vaiko floated the MDMK in 1994. A powerful orator, Mr.Vaiko, is known for voicing his concern towards the deplorable condition of the Tamils in Sri Lanka. Jailed on many occasions, including the detention under POTA for over 15 months, he was instrumental in providing free orthopaedic treatment to thousands in and around Sivakasi when he was an MP in 1998.


The MDMK has fielded S. Joel as its candidate for Tuticorin Lok Sabha constituency. The party’s district secretary,Mr.Joel is a lawyer by profession. He was born and brought up at Meignanapuram in Tuticorin district. Mr.Joel became the DMK Student Wing coordinator in Udangudi union. After Mr.Vaiko’s exit from the DMK, Mr.Joel joined the MDMK.


T. Sadhan Thirumalaikumar (61) contests from Tenkasi (Reserved) constituency. Currently, the contestant is the member of MDMK’s Parliamentary Committee. A native of Singilipatti in Tenkasi taluk, he is a doctor. Dr.Thirumalaikumar was the Student Wing Secretary of the DMK in 1972. He contested from Tenkasi LS constituency as a DMK candidate in 1991 and from Rajapalayam Assembly segment as an MDMK candidate. He got elected as an MLA from Vasudevanallur in 2006.


The MDMK has fielded its State propaganda secretary K. Azhagu Sundaram for Theni. A native of Tirupparankundram in Madurai, Mr.Azhagu Sundaram (48) was elevated as the party’s propaganda secretary after the exit of Nanjil Samapth who joined the AIADMK. He was arrested under POTA and spent 19 months in prison along with Vaiko.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 10, 2022 10:40:09 am |