Four held for distributing cash for votes

Four AIADMK members on Wednesday were arrested for allegedly distributing cash for votes at Villapuram here.

The distribution was being made ahead of the bypolls for Tirupparankundram Assembly constituency.

On receiving a tip, a flying squad led by Deputy Commercial Tax officer Abdul Rahman reached Vasuki Street in Villapuram and seized a total of ₹74,000. Around 50 people were waiting in queue to collect their share, according to eyewitness accounts. They were allegedly distributing ₹1,000 for each vote.

The arrested men were identified as Sivakumar and Ramasamy from Krishnagiri district’s Oothankarai and Tamilarasan and Muthumari from Madurai’s Villapuram.

The seized cash was handed over to the Treasury department.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 19, 2020 4:32:40 AM |

Next Story