Voters express their choice with clarity

Votes cast under NOTA exceed winning margins in some segments

The voters have not spared any candidate in the just-concluded elections and did not hesitate to select the None Of The Above (NOTA) option.

Voters did not spare any constituency so much so that in Gajwel, represented by Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, there were 1,624 NOTA votes. In Siddipet where T. Harish Rao won with record majority of 1.18 lakh votes, there were 2,932 NOTA votes.

The impact of the NOTA option in the elections was so much that votes cast under this option exceeded the victory margins in constituencies where there was close contest between the rival parties, according to the constituency-wise data released by the Election Commission.

Votes polled under the NOTA far exceeded the votes garnered by independents in several other constituencies. The Amberpet constituency in the city for instance was won by TRS candidate Kaleru Venkatesh with a majority of 1,016 votes over BJP’s G. Kishan Reddy and the constituency witnessed 1,462 votes polled under NOTA.

More than margin

Asifabad constituency which returned the Congress nominee Athram Sakku with the lowest majority of 171 votes had 2,715 voters opting for NOTA. The same was the case with Dharmapuri constituency where the winning margin of TRS candidate Koppula Eshwar was 441 and votes polled under NOTA pegged at 2,600.

Ibrahimpatnam constituency in the neighbouring Ranga Reddy district presented no different picture where the ruling party’s candidate M. Kishan Reddy won with majority of 376 votes against 1,151 votes under NOTA and 1,240 votes were polled under NOTA in Kodad where the TRS candidate B. Mallaiah Yadav won with a majority of 756 votes over his nearest rival N. Padmavati, wife of TPCC president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy.

The highest number of votes under NOTA option were cast in Wardhannapet where TRS’ candidate Aroori Ramesh won with a majority of close to one lakh votes and there were several constituencies like Husnabad, Station Ghanpur, Huzurabad, Alampur, Khammam, LB Nagar, Serilingampalli, Medchal, Munugode, Mulug and Mahabubabad where votes under NOTA option crossed the 3,000 mark.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Apr 3, 2020 11:26:26 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Hyderabad/voters-express-their-choice-with-clarity/article25736345.ece

Next Story