Somesh Kumar is new Chief Secretary of Telangana

In being appointed to the post, he supersedes several seniors

December 31, 2019 04:51 pm | Updated 10:27 pm IST - HYDERABAD

Outgoing Chief Secretary S. K. Joshi congratulating his successor Somesh Kumar in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

Outgoing Chief Secretary S. K. Joshi congratulating his successor Somesh Kumar in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

Mr. Somesh Kumar, Special Chief Secretary, Revenue, has been appointed new Chief Secretary of Telangana, superseding several seniors.

Mr. Somesh Kumar of the 1989 batch of the IAS from Bihar will succeed Mr. S. K. Joshi who retired on Tuesday on attaining superannuation. Post his retirement, the government has sought the services of Mr. Joshi as Advisor, Irrigation.

Mr. Somesh Kumar’s name had been figuring prominently among the probables for the top post apart from Mr. Ajay Mishra’s (1984 batch), who has seven months of service left.

The decision to appoint Mr. Somesh Kumar was taken by Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao from among the officers of Special Chief Secretary cadre of batches from 1983 to 1998. Mr. Somesh Kumar will have a long tenure of four years from January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2023. Apparently, the State Government opted for Mr. Somesh Kumar as he would have a long term to serve and provide continuity and stability to the administration.

Mr. Somesh Kumar, born on December, 22, 1963 and a post-graduate in Psychology from the University of Delhi, held key posts in high-profile departments — Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation, Tribal Welfare, Revenue-Commercial Taxes and Excise Collegiate Education, and AP Urban Services for Poor, among other assignments, and had made his mark on the administration.

As Principal Secretary, Revenue, Commercial Taxes and Excise, he ensured smooth transition to the GST regime, introduced IT, Apps, data analytics to plug loopholes and tax evasion and brought about several measures to curb leakage in the excise revenue and earned a reputation as a tough task master. At present, he is also looking after land matters, Registration, CCLA.

His tenure as GHMC Commissioner saw hike in property taxes, introduction of popular ₹5-a-meal and launch of the Strategic Road Development Plan. As head of the Tribal Welfare department, he introduced Chief Minister’s ST Entrepreneurship Innovation Initiative. In the initial years of his career, he served as Sub-Collector, Bodhan and Nizamabad, and later as Collector of Anantapur district.

Outgoing Chief Secretary S. K .Joshi, in being appointed to the post, had superseded Mr. B. P. Acharya and Mr. Binoy Kumar, the latter being on Central deputation. This time, Mr .Somesh Kumar was chosen over his seniors B. P. Acharya, Binoy Kumar (1983), Ajay Mishra (1984), Pushpa Subramanyam, Suresh Chanda, Chitra Ramachandran, Heeralal Samariya (1985), Rajeshwar Tiwari (1986), Rajiv Ranjan Mishra , Vasudha Mishra (1987), Shalini Mishra, Adhar Sinha and Rani Kumudini (1988). Many of his seniors are now on deputation to Centre and at least eight of his seniors are serving in the State.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.