Govt. divides Telangana into 7 zones, 2 multi-zones

The State government on Thursday formed the new zonal system which would have seven zones and two multi-zones to facilitate recruitment and transfer of employees.

“The new zonal system is aimed at avoiding injustices done to employees in the combined Andhra Pradesh. It will also ensure adequate benefits to those living in local areas following reorganisation of districts,” Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao said at a meeting here where the zonal system was finalised.

Revising the zonal system had become necessary following the formation of Telangana State and the subsequent reorganisation of districts increasing their number to 31 from the initial 10. According to officials, the suggestions of employees and teachers’ associations, who met the Chief Minister and submitted their proposals, have also been taken into consideration while formulating the new zonal system.

It was agreed that a meeting would be held on Friday at TGOs’ Bhavan to discuss the government decision on dividing the 31 districts into seven zones and two multi-zones and also inform the employees about other issues that came up for discussion at the meeting held by the Chief Minister. Views expressed at the Friday’s meeting would be conveyed to Chief Secretary based on which a note would be prepared for notifying the new zonal system. Later, the State Cabinet would meet to consider the proposal and after its approval, the new zonal system would be forwarded to the Centre for President’s assent.

Mr. Rao said he would personally monitor the entire process and would see to it that the new zonal and multi-zonal system comes into effect at the earliest.

The meeting was attended by Chief Secretary S.K. Joshi, Chief Advisor to Government Rajiv Sharma, senior officers Ajay Misra, S. Narsing Rao, A. Siva Sankar, Adhar Sinha and V. Bhoopal Reddy, employees associations’ leaders G. Deviprasad Rao and K. Ravinder Reddy, MP B. Vinod Kumar, legislators D.S. Redya Naik, A. Ramesh, V. Prashanth Reddy, K. Prabhakar Reddy, M. Yadagiri Reddy, D. Rajeshwar Rao and others.

Meanwhile, Telangana Employees’ Union president A. Padmachary welcomed the decision and felt the proposed system would “prevent recurrence of injustices” done to employees in the past.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 8, 2021 10:13:29 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Hyderabad/govt-divides-telangana-into-7-zones-2-multi-zones/article23981660.ece

Next Story