Congress leaders bargain for key positions

With elections all set to be ‘advanced’, Telangana Congress leaders are seeking to strengthening their position in the party and also seek key posts in various committees that are likely to be constituted.

Leaders who have spent their resources - personal as well as financial for the party in the last four years - now want a major slice in the election pie either in the form of posts or bargaining power for securing seats for their followers when candidates are selected. And they seem to be using every weapon they have to strengthen their position.

The resignation of Alleti Maheshwar Reddy as convenor of Praja Chaitanya Bus Yatra saying that he wants to spend more time in the district is being seen as an effort in that direction. He also stirred a hornet’s nest saying that north Telangana is being ignored as south Telangana has heavyweights where party can do well. The bus yatra was a major boost to the demoralised cadre that was lying low with the TRS attracting the leaders and cadre. Congress could win seats in single digit of the 40-odd seats in north Telangana with the Telangana agitation at its peak in those districts, particularly Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warangal and Nizamabad. Among them two MLAs shifted their loyalties to the ruling party leaving T. Jeevan Reddy and Bhatti Vikramarka in the party. Mr. Maheshwar Reddy says the party needs to concentrate on the five districts where resentment against the ruling party is huge and that needs to be exploited. For that strong local leadership has to be identified and accommodated at the State-level to send a strong signal to the ruling party. Senior leaders agree that resources of Nizamabad, Adilabad and Warangal leaders have to be channelised properly.

Interestingly, except Mr. Madhu Yashki, former MP from Nizamabad, all other AICC secretary posts from Telangana are from the south Telangana region and these include three from the erstwhile Mahabubnagar district. Mr. Maheshwar Reddy is also aspiring for the same.

TPCC president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy says leaders from north Telagnana districts also hold key posts and they include Mr. Bhatti Vikramarka, working president T. Jeevan Reddy, Deputy leader CLP and Shabbi Ali, Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council. He said the AICC will take into consideration the services of the leaders to the party and they would get the due recognition.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 14, 2021 8:34:36 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Hyderabad/congress-leaders-bargain-for-key-positions/article24786965.ece

Next Story