Centrality of administration takes a hit

Ministers and bureaucrats shifted to different places

The State administration has been adversely impacted as the offices of the Ministers and senior bureaucrats have been scattered across the city, thanks to the State government’s decision to vacate the existing secretariat complex paving the way for the construction of a state of the art new complex.

The temporary secretariat premises, the Burgula Ramakrishna Rao Bhavan, has no doubt been equipped with the requisite facilities to accommodate the Ministers’ chambers, but a majority of the Ministers preferred to shift to offices housing their respective commissionerates or heads of departments.

Interestingly, the technical committee of retired engineers-in-chief constituted by the government ahead of vacating the secretariat complex said in its report that “as the present buildings are scattered and not connected to each other, the movement of officials and files under sun, rain and speeding traffic is a safety hazard. As most of the Ministers are presently located in the D block, and secretaries in other blocks, the confidentiality of important files is at stake during transit.”

But all the important offices, including that of the Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao, have been shifted to different locations -- thereby impacting the centrality - the absence of which has been highlighted by the technical committee.

In the process of shifting of the offices, the Chief Minister’s Office has been partly shifted to the Metro Rail Bhavan at Rasoolpura from where some of his secretaries as well as the government’s chief adviser Rajiv Sharma are functioning while the Chief Minister himself is functioning from the Pragati Bhavan, although a chamber has been set up for him at the Metro Rail Bhavan.

Municipal Administration and Industries Minister K.T. Rama Rao decided to occupy the municipal administration complex at Lakdi-ka-pul while Finance Minister T. Harish Rao has started functioning from the Aranya Bhavan, located near the Secretariat. Social Welfare and Tribal Welfare Ministers Koppula Eshwar and Satyavathi Rathod respectively shifted to Samkshema Bhavan while Transport Minister P. Ajay Kumar has been given a chamber in the RTA office situated at Khairatabad.

Endowments and Forest Minister A. Indrakaran Reddy has already started functioning from the Endowments buildings at Boggulkunta and Animal Husbandry Minister T. Srinivas Yadav shifted his office to Animal Husbandry commissionerate at Masab Tank while Energy Minister G. Jagdish Reddy is working from the southern power distribution company’s office at Mint Compound.

Roads and Buildings Minister V. Prashanth Reddy has started functioning from the engineer-in-chief’s office at Errum Manzil so is Excise Minister V. Srinivas Goud who moved to Ravindra Bharati. The scattered manner in which the administration is now functioning, however, raised questions relating to redressal of grievances, those pertaining to more than one department in particular.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 27, 2020 7:10:15 PM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Hyderabad/centrality-of-administration-takes-a-hit/article29650158.ece

Next Story