AICC panel meets to clear State LS list


Await approval of AICC president

The central screening committee of the Congress met to discuss the candidates list for Telangana for the ensuing Parliament elections.

AICC general secretary in charge of Telangana R.C.Khuntia, three AICC secretaries for the State — Bose Raju, Sreenivasan, Saleem Ahmed; AICC organisational general secretary K.C.Venugopal, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president N.Uttam Kumar Reddy and Congress Legislature Party leader in the Telangana Assembly Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka were present.

The meeting discussed the names short-listed by the TPCC on the recommendations of the District Congress Committees. The names, if finalised will be sent to the high command for clearance. The final list may be announced in a couple of days since AICC president Rahul Gandhi has to give his final nod.

It is said that the party is trying to push the candidatures of its MPs from 2009-14 and who were in the forefront of the Telangana agitation. These include Ponnam Prabhakar (Karimnagar), Anjan Kumar Yadav (Secunderabad), P. Balram Naik (Mahbubabad) and Madhu Yashki Goud (Nizamabad). Konda Vishweshwer Reddy looks a certainty from Chevella constituency.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Related Topics Hyderabad
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 27, 2020 12:10:46 AM | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Hyderabad/aicc-panel-meets-to-clear-state-ls-list/article26518287.ece

Next Story