16 TRS candidates get more than 50,000 majority

The State has witnessed a wave in favour of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi in the Assembly election where the party bagged 88 of the 119 seats.

Contrary to claims that there will be close contests for many seats, the TRS candidates won with huge margins in several constituencies. A look at the victory margins reveal that 16 of the 88 TRS candidates won with huge margins of over 50,000 votes. T. Harish Rao who scored a double hat-trick of victories led the others by securing a record margin of 1.18 lakh votes while Wardhannapet TRS candidate Aroori Ramesh scored no less with 99,240 votes.

TRS president K. Chandrasekhar Rao’s son K.T. Rama Rao significantly bettered his share of votes in Sircilla registering an emphatic win with a margin 89,009 votes while Mr. Rao himself secured 58,290 votes. MIM leader Akbaruddin Owaisi won with a majority of 80,264 votes from Chandrayangutta and his party candidate from Bahadurpura Mohd. Moazam Khan won with a margin of 82,518 votes.

TRS candidate V. Satish Kumar won from Husnabad with a margin of over 70,000 votes while Malkajgiri MLA M. Hanumantha Rao secured majority of 73,698 votes. The TRS candidates from Jagtial, Narayankhed, Palakurthi, Wanaparthy, Mahabubnagar, Nagarkurnool and Rajendranagar constituencies all won with majority of over 50,000.

The election has also seen some winners whose majority did not cross the three digit mark and first among them is the Congress candidate from Asifabad whose majority was just 171 votes. Ibrahimpatnam TRS candidate M. Kishan Reddy had to sweat it out as his rival Malreddy Ranga Reddy who contested as BSP candidate almost clinched the victory. But Mr. Kishan Reddy bettered his opponent by 376 votes. In Dharmapuri Eshwar Koppula scampered home with a margin of 441 votes over his nearest rival Adluri Laxman Kumar of the Congress party.

In Kodad constituency, there was close fight between the ruling TRS and the Congress candidates and the TRS candidate B. Mallaiah Yadav had the final say winning with 756 votes. The fight was equally close in the Amberpet constituency represented by BJP’s senior leader G. Kishan Reddy in the previous Assembly where the TRS candidate Kaleru Venkatesh won with slender margin of a little over 1,000 votes.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 18, 2022 11:46:40 pm | https://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Hyderabad/16-trs-candidates-get-more-than-50000-majority/article25736363.ece