V.K. Singh wins by a whopping margin

Former Army chief and BJP candidate General V.K. Singh won from this Parliamentary constituency by a whopping margin of 5.66 lakh votes, which was also the biggest margin in Delhi/NCR.

Mr. Singh polled 7,58,113 votes as against 1,91,188 votes for his nearest rival Raj Babbar of the Congress. The Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Mukul took the third spot with 1,73,085 votes.

Samajwadi Party candidate Sudhan Kumar Rawat managed 1,06,956 votes and stood fourth while the Aam Aadmi Party, which had stormed this industrial township riding on the back of a media frenzy that accompanied its candidate Shazia Ilmi, finished a poor fifth with just 89,125 votes. As many as 6,203 voters opted for “None Of The Above” option.

An interesting aspect of the election in this constituency was that barring Mr. Singh, all his 14 rivals forfeited their deposits as they could not secure the requisite one-sixth of the votes polled in order to get their deposits back.

After his win Mr. Singh reiterated that he would implement his local manifesto and bring ambitious projects of national importance to the constituency. “People have voted for me because they see as a person who is here to serve them and not to rule. I will try my best to implement all the poll-promises I made to the people here.”

Surprised and delighted at the same time on his record win, he said: “We were expecting to get around 3 lakh votes but more than 7 lakh votes is a big honour for us. I am extremely delighted.”

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 24, 2022 8:26:24 AM |

Next Story