CM gallantry award winner ITBP DG Sanjay Arora joins as Delhi Police Commissioner

A file photo of Sanjay Arora.

A file photo of Sanjay Arora. | Photo Credit: PTI

Superintendent of Police of the Special Task Force, which successfully cracked down on the notorious Veerappan gang and received the CM's gallantry Medal for Bravery and Heroic Action, Sanjay Arora has been appointed as the new Commissioner of the Delhi Police.

Formerly Director General of Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), 1988-batch IPS officer of the Tamil Nadu Cadre, Mr. Arora also had a pivotal role in forming the Special Security Group (SSG) which provided security to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu during the time when LTTE was active. Mr. Arora succeeds outgoing Police Commissioner Rakesh Asthana, who has completed a year of his tenure.

A graduate with a bachelor's degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Malviya National Institute of Technology in Jaipur, Mr. Arora has served the ITBP on deputation as a Commandant from 1997 to 2002. He has also commanded a border guarding ITBP Battalion in Matli, Uttarakhand for three years from 1997 to 2000.

As an Instructor, Mr. Arora has also made remarkable contributions in the field of training, serving as Commandant (Combat Wing) at the ITBP Academy, Mussoorie from 2000 to 2002.

Mr. Arora has also served as the Commissioner of Police of Coimbatore city from 2002 to 2004 and has also served as the Deputy Inspector General of Police, Villupuram Range and Deputy Director of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption

Apart from the CM's gallantry award, he has also been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, Police Special Duty Medal, Antrik Suraksha Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal.

Mr. Arora has also led the Chennai City Police as Additional Commissioner in Crime and Headquarters and Traffic. Later on promotion, he was appointed as ADGP (Operations) and ADGP (Administration) in the Tamil Nadu Police. He has also served as IG (Special Operations) of BSF, IG Chattisgarh Sector of CRPF and and IG (Operations) CRPF. Mr. Arora assumed charge as the DG of ITBP on August 31 last year as the 31st Chief of the Force.

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs order announcing the new Commissioner stated: "With the approval of the Competent Authority for inter-cadre deputation of Sanjay Arora, from Tamil Nadu Cadre to AGMUT Cadre. In pursuance of the said approval, Sanjay Arora, is hereby appointed as Commissioner of Police, Delhi with with effect from 1st August, 2022 or from the date of taking over charge whichever is latter and till further orders".

Meanwhile, a farewell parade was held for outgoing Commissioner Ashthana at Parade Ground, New Police Lines on Sunday, which was followed by a ceremony in the evening at the Police Headquarters. Mr. Asthana served as the Chief of the Border Security Force while also holding the additional charge of the Narcotics Control Bureau. Before his joining, Balaji Shrivastava, an IPS from the AGMUT cadre, was given an additional charge of the Commissioner of Police before leaving within 27 days.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 12, 2022 3:20:52 pm |