IIT-D declares winners of Alumni Award 2019


Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, on Wednesday announced that it will be presenting its Distinguished Alumni Award 2019, to Srinivasan Keshav, Professor at Cheriton School of Computer Science at the University of Waterloo, Mohit Aron, founder and CEO of Cohesity and Binny Bansal, co-founder, Flipkart. The award will be presented at the 50th convocation ceremony of IIT, Delhi, on November 2.

The award will be presented to Arun Duggal, chairman of ICRA Ltd., Mangalore Chemicals and Fertilizers Limited and International Asset Reconstruction Company and Amarjit Singh Bakshi, chairman and managing director of the Bakshi Group a Delhi-based business conglomerate and a first-generation entrepreneur.

Announcing the awards, IIT-D director V. Ramgopal Rao said the institute has has over 50,000 alumni right now and many of them have done exceedingly well in their chosen professions and brought a glory to the institute and the country. “This year’s Distinguished Alumni awardees are also in a way representing the rich tradition of entrepreneurship that exists among IIT Delhi alumni. Over 50% of the Indian or Indian-origin Unicorn founders are graduates of IIT Delhi. The institute celebrates the achievements of its alumni by giving these awards,” Mr. Rao said.

Distinguished Alumni and Distinguished Alumni Service Awards, the institute said is an acknowledgement on the institute’s part of the significant contributions made by its alumni in nation building.

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Dec 15, 2019 6:34:32 PM |

Next Story