Delhi’s bus fleet at all-time high with 80 new buses

Delhi Transport Minister Kailash Gehlot flagging off 80 new AC buses on Wednesday

Delhi Transport Minister Kailash Gehlot flagging off 80 new AC buses on Wednesday | Photo Credit: R.V. MOORTHY

In a move to strengthen the public transport system in the Capital, 80 new AC CNG low-floor buses were inducted under the Delhi government’s cluster scheme here on Wednesday.

Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot flagged off the buses at the Rajghat Cluster Depot, pushing the number of public buses in the city to 7,081 — the highest ever.

As of now, cluster buses are operated on a network of 328 city routes; the additional 80 buses will be deployed on 9 additional cluster routes from the Ghumanhera Depot 1 and 2, the government said.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal tweeted, “Congratulations to the people of Delhi. 80 low-floor AC buses were added to the fleet of public buses today. We are continuously strengthening the bus network of Delhi. We will fulfill all the promises made to the people of Delhi. (sic.)

“These buses are equipped with state-of-the-art facilities including safety features for women passengers. We are keen towards providing Delhiites a world-class public transport system,” he added.

Modern features

According to the government, the newly inducted buses are equipped with a foldable ramp for the differently-abled, CCTV cameras, panic buttons with hooters for women’s safety and live video streaming facility for emergencies.

The buses also have GPS units for live tracking, a two-way communication feature with the control room and Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system, among other facilities.

The new buses will ply on route number 567 from Qamruddin Nagar Terminal to Sarai Kale Khan, route 232 from B Block Mangolpuri to Old Delhi Railway Station, route 233 from Syed Nangloi to Old Delhi Railway Station and route 356 from Mehrauli to Mayur Vihar Phase III.

They will also ply on route 949 from Tikri Border to Dehli Secretariat, route 164 from West Enclave to Shivaji Stadium, route 523 from Dhaula Kuan to Bhati Mines, route 953STL from Mangolpuri B Block to R Block New Rajinder Nagar and route 568 from Mangolpuri Q Block to Safdarjung Terminal.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 18, 2022 4:28:58 am |