Qatar World Cup 2022Stephanie Frappart set to become first woman referee in a men’s FIFA World Cup match in Qatar 2022

Delhi govt. to start trial runs on 26 new bus routes today

Bus services to begin with 50% deployment

October 02, 2022 12:46 am | Updated 12:46 am IST - New Delhi

Trial runs on 26 new bus routes proposed under a Route Rationalisation study will begin from October 2, the Delhi government announced here on Saturday. 

Bus services on these new routes will start with 50% deployment. The new routes include three on the Central Business District (CBD) circulators, two on super Trunk routes, 18 on primary and three on airport service routes. 

Routes under the NCR and feeder routes, which were also part of the Route Rationalisation study by the Delhi Integrated Multi-Modal Transit System (DIMTS), will not be part of the trial for now.

Improve connectivity

The Central Business District (CBD) Circulators will provide or improve connectivity between major CBDs and be operational at a frequency of 5 to 10 minutes. These will include areas such as Tis Hazari, Mandi House and Chandni Chowk among others.

On Trunk routes, buses will provide connectivity to the CBDs from major hubs in the city at the same frequency. These will include locations such as Connaught Place, South Extension and Lajpat Nagar etc.

Primary routes such as Dwarka, Pitampura and Burari among others will be provided connectivity at a frequency of 10 to 20 minutes while major hubs across the city will be connected to the airport through the airport service routes at a frequency of 10 minutes.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.