Delhi Congress forms panel to scrutinise poll debacle

While many senior leaders in the Delhi Congress have seen a silver lining in the recently concluded Lok Sabha election in which the party increased its vote share and finished in second place in five of the seven constituencies, State party chief Sheila Dikshit constituted a committee to probe its defeat.

5-member committee

The Delhi Congress has constituted a five-member committee to probe in-depth, the reasons behind the defeat of the Congress candidates in the Capital.

Ms. Dikshit has named former MP Parvez Hashmi, former Delhi Ministers A.K. Walia and Yoganand Shastri, former MLA Jaikishan and national spokesperson of the AICC Pawan Khera to enquire into the reasons behind the defeat of all seven Congress candidates.

Delhi Congress spokesperson said, “The committee will probe the reasons for the defeat of the Congress candidates and what should be done to ensure the victory of the party in the 2020 Assembly elections in Delhi. It will also look into how to further strengthen the party organisation in Delhi.”

The committee has been asked to submit its report to the DPCC president within 10 days. The Delhi Congress lost all seven seats in Delhi and finished in third position in South Delhi and in North West Delhi.

Our code of editorial values

Related Topics
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Sep 25, 2021 12:54:41 AM |

Next Story