AAP finishes second in 20 constituencies

Updated - November 16, 2021 06:12 pm IST

Published - December 10, 2013 10:19 am IST - NEW DELHI:

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which won 28 seats in the Delhi Assembly elections, came second in 20 other constituencies. In four seats, the party lost by narrow margins.

The AAP, which was dismissed by the Congress and the BJP as a spoiler, would have emerged as the single largest party had it got a total of 5,278 more votes in four Assembly constituencies — R.K. Puram, Sultanpur Majra, Rajinder Nagar and Kalkaji.

The party lost R.K. Puram by 326 votes; Sultanpur Majra by 1,112, Rajinder Nagar by 1,796 votes and Kalkaji by 2,044.

Lost to BJP

AAP candidate Vijender Garg finished second to BJP’s R.P. Singh in Rajinder Nagar. Sitting MLA and former Transport Minister Ramakant Goswami stood third.

In Kalkaji, AAP’s Dharambir Singh lost to BJP’s Harmeet Singh. The margin of the AAP candidate’s defeat in Tri Nagar was 2,809.

In Bijwasan, AAP candidate Devinder Kumar Sehrawat lost to the sitting BJP MLA, Sat Prakash Rana, by 2,414 votes.

The party’s candidate in Karawal Nagar, Kapil Mishra, the son of former East Delhi Mayor and BJP leader Dr. Annapurna Mishra, lost to sitting BJP MLA Mohan Singh Bisht by 3,083 votes.

AAP’s Ravi Kumar Suryan lost to the BJP’s Pradyuman Rajput by 5,197 votes in Dwarka. The party snatched Greater Kailash, Kasturba Nagar, Sangam Vihar, Ambedkar Nagar and Deoli from the BJP and the Congress. In Mehrauli, AAP’s Narinder Singh Sejwal lost by 4,564 votes to BJP’s Parvesh Sahib Singh, coming in second.

0 / 0
Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.