April 30, 2013 10:09 am | Updated October 18, 2016 02:53 pm IST - NEW DELHI

Deputy Commissioner of Police (East District) Prabhakar is among several IPS officers whose transfers were announced on Monday. The district was recently in the news for the abduction and brutal rape of a five-year-old in Gandhi Nagar and subsequent allegations of an attempted hush-up by the staff members of the area police station.

The gang rape had sparked off a series of protests with the police being accused of inaction. The victim’s family had alleged that the police did not even visit the building from where the girl had gone missing and it was they who found her locked in one of the rooms in the building almost 40 hours later. The accused, too, had fled by then.

Those who took to the streets demanded an atmosphere where women and children feel safe. Demands of greater accountability from the police and resignation of the Police Commissioner were also made. At one such protest, a minor girl was also slapped by Assistant Commissioner of Police B. S. Ahlawat. He was later suspended, as were the SHO and Additional SHO of the Gandhi Nagar police station.

The vigilance inquiry ordered into allegations of lapses on the part of the Delhi Police had found the area SHO prima facie guilty of dereliction of duty. In the inquiry report submitted to the Police Headquarters acts of omission and commission had been established.

Mr. Prabhakar would switch places with Ajay Kumar, who is currently a DCP in Prime Minister’s security.

Two more DCPs – B.S. Jaiswal and Chhaya Sharma -- have been transferred from their respective districts. While Ms. Sharma has been relieved on transfer to Mizoram, Mr. Jaiswal, hitherto DCP (Outer District), would replace her in South District. Sanjay Kumar has been posted as Additional Commissioner of Outer District and transferred from Additional Commissioner of Police in Prime Minister’s security.

Another officer to be transferred is DCP Vivek Kishore, who, like Ms. Sharma, would be relieved on transfer to Mizoram from the Headquarters. All transfers have been approved by Lieutenant-Governor Tejendra Khanna.

Top News Today

Sign in to unlock member-only benefits!
  • Access 10 free stories every month
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign-up/manage your newsletter subscriptions with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early access to discounts & offers on our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.