12 girls among 25 children awarded for bravery

The 2016 National Bravery Awards winning children called on President Pranab Mukherjee at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Saturday.

Four girls of the 25 ‘National Bravery Award 2016’ winners have been given the award posthumously. Of the 25 children, 12 are girls and 13 are boys. The ‘Bharat Award’ was conferred posthumously to Late Km Tarh Peeju of Arunanchal Pradesh who displayed heroic courage and sacrificed her life to save two of her friends when they were being swept away by a strong undercurrent.

Uncovering sex racket

The ‘Geeta Chopra Award’ was conferred jointly on Km Tejasweeta Pradhan and Km Shivani Gond of West Bengal, who helped the police and an organisation in uncovering an international sex racket leading to the arrest of the mastermind. The ‘Sanjay Chopra Award’ was given to Master Sumit Mamagain of Uttarakhand who displayed outstanding bravery in saving his cousin from a leopard attack.

Battling water and fire

BaLate Km Roluahpuii of Mizoram was given the ‘Bapu Gaidhani Award’ posthumously for her timely & valorous act in saving two of her schoolmates when they were drowning in an 18 feet deep river. Master Tushar Verma of Chhattisgarh was presented Bapu Gaidhani Award for exhibiting dauntless valour and sense of duty for dousing the flames when a neighbour’s house caught fire, Tushar risked his life and three cows and two bulls were rescued in the process. Late Km. H. Lalhriatpuii of Mizoram was given Bapu Gaidhani Award posthumously.


Inspiring more children

Other recipients of the award are: Km. Neelam Dhruv of Chattisgarh, Master Sonu Mali of Rajasthan, Master Mohan Shetty of Odisha, Km. Siya Vamansa Khode of Karnataka, Master Thanghilmang Lunkim of Nagaland, Master Praful Sharma of Himachal Pradesh, Master Tankeswar Pegu of Assam, Master Moirangthem Sadananda Singh of Manipur, Master Adithyan M.P. Pillai of Kerala, Km. Anshika Pandey of Uttarpradesh, Master Binil Manjaly of Kerala, Km. Akshita Sharma and Master Akshit Sharma of New Delhi jointly, Master Akhil K. Shibu of Kerala, Master Naman of New Delhi, Km. Nisha Dilip Patil of Maharashtra, Km. Badarunnisa K.P. of Kerala, Late Km. Payal Devi of Jammu & Kashmir.

The scheme of National Awards for Bravery was started by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate them.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Jan 18, 2022 6:32:54 AM |

Next Story