Eight held for assaulting AIADMK functionary

Eight persons, who were involved in assaulting an All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) functionary at Thookanaickenpalayam (T.N. Palayam) panchayat on February 6, were arrested by the police here.

In the indirect elections to the post of chairperson at T.N. Palayam Panchayat Union on February 4, AIADMK candidate K.M. Vijayalakshmi won the elections. However, the DMK councillors alleged irregularities in the conduct of elections and blocked the road.

Later, many posters were pasted alleging that School Education Minister K.A. Sengottaiyan interfered in the election process.

Former AIADMK MLA Kandasamy removed the posters at a few places after which his car was damaged by the DMK cadre.

On February 6, when Natraj of AIADMK questioned the DMK cadre, he was allegedly attacked by them.

The Bungalow Pudur police registered a case and arrested Sivakumar, Vijayan, Rajendran, Madheswaran, Selvan, Madhan, Ramesh and Eswaran.

They were produced in court and lodged at the prison.

A letter from the Editor

Dear reader,

We have been keeping you up-to-date with information on the developments in India and the world that have a bearing on our health and wellbeing, our lives and livelihoods, during these difficult times. To enable wide dissemination of news that is in public interest, we have increased the number of articles that can be read free, and extended free trial periods. However, we have a request for those who can afford to subscribe: please do. As we fight disinformation and misinformation, and keep apace with the happenings, we need to commit greater resources to news gathering operations. We promise to deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Support Quality Journalism
Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | May 31, 2020 7:50:49 PM |

Next Story