|Sportstar Aces Awards 2023 | VOTE FOR TOP CATEGORIES

Coimbatore Corporation to honour 10 best performing councillors on Republic Day

January 24, 2023 07:02 pm | Updated January 26, 2023 10:15 am IST - COIMBATORE

Ten councillors of Coimbatore Corporation are to receive awards and certificates of appreciation on Republic Day for their performance and contributions to the development of the ward under various parameters.

According to a release from Corporation Commissioner M. Prathap, councillors G.V. Naveen Kumar (ward 5), A. Radhakrishnan (ward 18), S. Saranya (ward 30), M.K. Praveen Raj (ward 42), Prabha Raveendran (ward 48), A. Annakodi (ward 49), Ilakkumi Ilanchelvi Karthik (ward 52), K. Selvaraj (ward 72), E. Ahmed Kabir (ward 86) and R. Karthikeyan (ward 100) were selected for the award.

Mayor Kalpana Anandakumar will distribute the award to the councillors during the Republic Day function on Thursday. All the 100 councillors were assessed on various parameters such as regular attendance to the Corporation council meeting, implementation of various measures for municipal solid waste management in the ward, and contribution to the ‘Namakku Naame’ scheme, with ten marks for each criterion.

They were assessed for five marks each on constructive suggestions to the council, goodwill among residents, recovery and maintenance of open space reserve sites, and contribution to the tax collection measures.

Top News Today


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide by our community guidelines for posting your comments.

We have migrated to a new commenting platform. If you are already a registered user of The Hindu and logged in, you may continue to engage with our articles. If you do not have an account please register and login to post comments. Users can access their older comments by logging into their accounts on Vuukle.