Hema Malini wins Rajya Sabha by-election

Actor Hema Malini being greeted by Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa at the Vidhana Soudha in Bangalore after she won the Rajya Sabha by-election on Thursday. Photo: V. Sreenivasa Murthy   | Photo Credit: V Sreenivasa Murthy

Actor Hema Malini, fielded by the Bharatiya Janata Party for the by-election to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka, won on Thursday by an unexpected margin of 12 votes against her rival K. Marulasiddappa (Independent), who was supported by the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular).

She will, however, have only a one-year term, ending on April 2, 2012. She enjoyed a full six-year term between 2003 and 2009 in the Upper House.

Of a total of 205 votes in the electoral college that comprised the Assembly members, the BJP enjoys a strength of 107, including Speaker K.G. Bopaiah and an Independent. The Congress and the JD(S) have a combined strength of 98. While Ms. Hema Malini's victory margin should have been nine, a record number of invalid votes resulted in a higher margin. Ms. Hema Malini polled 106 votes compared to 94 by Dr. Marulasiddappa.

Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa and senior BJP leaders greeted her.

Our code of editorial values

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Oct 26, 2021 3:17:25 PM |

Next Story