Lok Sabha results and voting trends

This interactive feature looks at elections results in the previous two Lok Sabha elections (2014 and 2019), which can be filtered down further using several criteria, and voter turnout trends in the ongoing 2024 elections.

Alliance-wise numbers


Reserved for


Population Density

Type of Contest


Party Winner Type

Turncoat or not

Phase of elections


Use the filters to drill down further on electoral results constituency-wise in the respective Lok Sabha elections. Use the "Select State" dropdown to zoom into States/ UTs directly. The "Urban Clusters" dropdown allows zooming in to urban constituencies that are clustered together (NCR Region in and around Delhi for e.g., and other seats in metropolitan cities). You can see the data in either map or list view. List view will list the top 3 parties in each constituency and their vote shares. The "Clear-all" button will reset filters and the dropdowns to "All".

A "turncoat" is defined as a contestant who shifted parties from the previous parliamentary election.

Electoral data were sourced from the Election Commission of India (https://www.eci.gov.in/) and Lok Dhaba, TCPD, Ashoka University -

Citation: Ananay Agarwal, Neelesh Agrawal, Saloni Bhogale, Sudheendra Hangal, Francesca Refsum Jensenius, Mohit Kumar, Chinmay Narayan, Basim U Nissa, Priyamvada Trivedi, and Gilles Verniers. 2021. “TCPD Indian Elections Data v2.0", Trivedi Centre for Political Data, Ashoka University. http://lokdhaba.ashoka.edu.in/

The shapefiles/GeoJSON for the maps were sourced from the Datameet community.

Urban/ Rural classification for parliamentary seats was done by aggregating night light intensity data on assembly constituencies, provided by the SHRUG database. 298 constituencies were identified as "Rural", 104: "Semi-rural", 71: "Semi-urban" and 62: "Urban".

Parties - Abbreviations and full names -BJP: Bharatiya Janata Party, SHS: Shiv Sena, TDP: Telugu Desam, JD(S): Janata Dal (Secular), JD(U): Janata Dal (United), AINRC: All India N.R.Congress, NPEP: National People's Party, NPF: Naga Peoples Front, PMK: Paattali Makkal Katchi, AGP: Asam Gana Parishad, AJSUP: AJSU Party, IPFT: Indigenous People's Front of Tripura, PPA: People's Party of Arunachal, RLD: Rashtriya Lok Dal, RPI(A): Republican Party Of India (Athavale), INC: Indian National Congress, CPM: Communist Party of India (Marxist), NCP: Nationalist Congress Party, SP: Samajwadi Party, AAAP: Aam Aadmi Party, RJD: Rashtriya Janata Dal, IUML: Indian Union Muslim League, JMM: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, CPI: Communist Party of India, KEC(M): Kerala Congress (M), RSP: Revolutionary Socialist Party, AIFB: All India Forward Bloc, DMK: Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, JKN: Jammu & Kashmir National Conference, JKNPP: Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, VCK: Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, ADMK: All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, AITC: All India Trinamool Congress, BJD: Biju Janata Dal, TRS: Bharat Rashtra Samithi, YSRCP: Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party, LJP: Lok Jan Shakti Party, SAD: Shiromani Akali Dal, AIUDF: All India United Democratic Front, IND: Independents, JKPDP: Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party, INLD: Indian National Lok Dal, AIMIM: All India Majlis-E- lttehadul Muslimeen, SDF: Sikkim Democratic Front, BOPF: Bodoland Peoples Front, BSP: Bahujan Samaj Party, DMDK: Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam, MNS: Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, SKM: Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, UDP: United Democratic Party